Skip to main content

What is it About Sugar Sugar™?

Through Ten Years of Work, Trial, Effort and Analytics  We've made Sugar Sugar a Sugar Waxing Money Maker that Clients LOVE.
October 23, 2023

Understanding the Hair Growth Cycle

Understanding the Hair Growth Cycle


  1. Anagen (Growth Phase): This is the active growth phase of the hair follicle. During this phase, the cells in the root of the hair are dividing rapidly, adding to the hair shaft. The anagen phase can last anywhere from two to six years and determines the length of our hair.

  2. Catagen (Transitional Phase): This is a transitional stage that lasts for about two weeks. The catagen phase signals the end of the active growth of a hair. During this time, the hair follicle shrinks and detaches from the dermal papilla, cutting the hair off from its blood supply.

  3. Telogen (Resting Phase): This is the resting phase of the hair follicle. The hair is released and falls out, and the follicle remains inactive for approximately three months. After the telogen phase, the hair follicle re-enters the anagen phase, and a new hair begins to grow.

Understanding these stages is important when considering hair removal methods. Different methods target hair at various stages of growth. For instance:

  1. Shaving: This removes hair at the skin's surface without targeting the follicle, meaning the hair will grow back relatively quickly because the follicle remains intact.

  2. Sugaring: These methods pull the hair out from the root, including hairs in the anagen phase, which leads to longer periods without hair regrowth compared to shaving.

Understanding the hair growth cycle is crucial when considering the most effective method for hair removal and achieving longer-lasting results.

Go to Top